Kitty Got Wet ~ Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Ed. ~

6 10 2009

One aspect of my absence comes as a result of Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. There were a few ways in which you could guarantee yourself a spot for the closed beta of this game, but putting down the minimum of $5 at your local Lamestop was the easiest and most upfront of them all. Yes, I stay the hell away from Lamestop inasmuch as I can, but this is was best way to get a beta code. Besides, you can always cancel your deposit regardless of what sleazy employee tries to tell you otherwise.

The preorder bonus had the beta code which gave you access to the closed multiplayer beta as well as a Revenge booster that you can utilize from the beginning in the retail copy of the game. Something tells me that this booster might be akin to martyrdom of CoD4 fame.

As a fan of the first installation in the franchise, Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, I was super stoked to hear that Naughty Dog would be making a sequel to this very successful PS3 launch title. To brush up on my history and to familiarize myself with the in-game mechanics, I have located my copy of the launch title and have begun to play it to prepare for the second one. I guess you can say that I am eagerly anticipating the arrival of this game. Hmmm, there is some weird text formatting with the 1st paragraph that I am unable to correct. Strange.

First and foremost, anyone who is genuinely a gamer, as in you love ALL games for the sake of gaming, should play Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune especially if you own a PS3. In terms of PS3 gaming, I’d have to say that this title is one of those games that will go down as a classic in terms of launch titles, titles within its genre, and relative to other titles that exist amongst the next-generation consoles. This is one game that I can definitely say that if you haven’t played the first one, you’re definitely missing out and cannot truly experience and appreciate the great strides of improvement upon something that was already very good to begin with.

s

s

Out of the many trailers being showcased for games coming out this fall, I am completely mesmerized by the Uncharted ones. I think the last trailer or in-game demonstration that impressed me vastly was Remedy’s Alan Wake. As you can tell from both the message and subtitle of the game – “Among Thieves” -, there is bound to be betrayal and heartache of some form in this title. It’s all so sexy.

The following screens are from IGN’s press screenshots and I can only surmise what level or aspect of the game is being shown. Ah, I remember when I used to be privy to press information, too.

s

s

Unlike the first Uncharted where the user was isolated to a remote island, Drake and crew will be traversing exotic lands of varied terrain. The above screenshot looks to be that of a Himalayan environment.

s

s

Here is some train wreckage that could possibly be en route to the Himalayan location. One aspect that’s done extremely well in the series is the evasive maneuvering whilst being able to shoot at your enemies. Drake is an extremely versatile guy.

s

s

If I’m not mistaken, this map is most likely that of Village unless there are other locations with random scripted events such as the tank bursting through the wall. This is a pretty gnarly shot, but I highly doubt that even the man himself, Nathan Drake, can stand against a tank especially with a mounted turret at the top. We’re both lucky and unlucky that the tank doesn’t fire off its main cannon. Now, how cool would that be!

s

s

Who doesn’t feel like a badass mothaf-BLEEP in a fisticuff match against bad guys? With the array of different types of ways to sock it to someone, melee in the game makes for a fun addition to the gameplay. I really enjoyed the melee and combat system in the first one and never grew tired of the witty remarks that ensued my uppercuts and hooks. I don’t know how many gamers have noticed this, but Naughty Dog really cares about breathing life and realism into its characters and game that slight muscle contortions and facial expressions are fully implemented in the characters in both offline and online gameplay.

s

s

Last but not least, this is the E3 in-game demonstration that completely blew my pants away. My jaw dropped and stayed that way during the entire demonstration length. You just need to watch it.

s

s

I leave you with this. When I love a video game franchise, I fully support that franchis to no end. More often than not, I end up loving the characters and look for those characters in installations of the game. You’d be surprised that endearing characters can tug on heart strings and bring loyal fans wondering what happened to those characters (see Resident Evil 5 and Jill Valentine). I’ll dedicate another post concerning this topic, but this is especially true of me and Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. I don’t particularly care for blondes and rarely like a blonde-haired video game character. I happen to love Elena Fisher from the first title very much. The woman about to plant her lips on Nathan is obviously not Elena Fisher. I can’t wait to see how this all turns out.

Pictures, Trailers or Information Courtesy of:
-PS3 Development
-G4 TV
– IGN for water stamping all of those pictures, lolz
– Youtubbers for uploading the E3 demonstration and official trailer

//

//

//

Actions

Information

One response

11 01 2010
2009 in perspective and looking ahead towards 2010 « One 'N Only Jem

[…] Kitty Got Wet ~ Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Ed. ~ – Uncharted 2: Among Thieves preview […]

Leave a Reply

