Kenshin’s ugly twin that you’ve never heard of

16 11 2008

Disclaimer: Pictures of the product are considered NSFW


Usually under normal circumstances, I am very good at spotting bootlegs. This is not to say that I haven’t been duped by them at all as I fell for the really alluring prices that the Deathnote line of nendoroids were going for on eBay. Suffice to say, lesson learned and I do not promote these bootleg products. Recasts are a gray area, but that’s another story for another day.

Well, my husband has been eye-ing the Volks 1/4 Kenshin Uesugi of Sengoku Rance for awhile now. Considering that she is a Volks product and their policy about not selling to foreigners, it would be nigh impossible to get ahold of this beauty without incurring a lot of additional surcharges on top of the hefty retail price. One day on eBay, I spotted and pointed this out to him. At first, it was a little weird because the seller didn’t respond back to us, but time was running out on the listing and he was using beyond official pictures; it had the Volks retail box, official picture, etcetera.

The new item was paid off for on Sept. 15 and the listing mentioned that at times, the product will be mailed from their factory and that he was able for anything if you had any questions. He made mention of how ‘NICE’ this statue was, but he preferred Isoroku Yamamoto. It took roughly around 7-10 days to receive the product.

Whenever you get a package, there’s always this feeling of anticipation and excitement especially if you know what you’re getting. It’s feeling “Wow, it’s already here. I can’t believe it. I can’t wait to open it” So, we opened it and the box was exactly as advertised. As we opened up the box, that feeling of excitement quickly dissipated into feelings of anger.

null

Behold the beauty that is Kenshin Uesugi. How she mocks me in her splendor. This is the epitome of resin sculpture that only Volks can bring. This is what I thought we had paid for. This is what I thought those feelings embodied. Well, I couldn’t be any more wrong about that.

Wondering why the tape was yellow and taped over, I removed her from her styrofoam cushion and said, “There’s definitely something wrong here!” She is definitely shinier than usual. It’s as if someone had fun putting coat after coat of gloss on top of her paint of something. In the first picture, you can see the weird discoloration on the toe/toe nail region. From the hands of a skilled painter, the paint application would give off the slight color variation in the toe region.  Since this is from a bootleg factory, the toes just look discolored and messed up. Kenshin also had a pearlescent color applied to her nails like nail polish. I’m sorry, but I sincerely doubt they have nail polish in the Warring States.

In the second picture, feast your eyes on her bloated abdomen. It looks as though something is definitely baking in the oven. The paint application for this garbage statue is just horrid. It’s especially seen in this abdomen region where it looks as if her body/skin is merging with the ropes that bind her. There is slight dust particles on her hair. Dust particles should not be able to enter an enclosed box. The color on her lips and around her lips is so ugly. She looks as if she went to the Sphaghetti Factory and ate a buffet of pasta with sauce. Have you ever eaten sphaghetti and got the sauce slightly smeared on your face that it gives off that orange-y residue around your mouth? There is a lack of attention to the eyes that is seen in the Volks prototype picture. There is no room for excuses there since a resin product should look like a resin prototype. Her nipples and aureolas appear to have been pinched/slapped in excess to give off that reddish and irritated look.

This baby’s definitely got NO back at all. My camera wasn’t good enough to get a lot of the flaws; one of those flaws being the cellulite texture. When a statue isn’t sanded with good sand paper, it will still retain the bumps and irregularities of being sculpted which is why sanding them down to a smooth texture is very good. Not only did Kenshin have a cellulite derriere, but she had a gaping hole on her right cheek. In the area in between the cheeks, she is growing a hemorhoid-like structure just directly beneath the rope. As you can see, the rope is also merging into her buttocks. There was no follow through in the paint either when it came to the under parts of certain pieces such as the insides of her upper and lower pieces of clothing.

The back side of the plate armor was badly sculpted and painted. It wasn’t completely sanded down and there is a yellowish gloop residue. Her arm arrived broken. Usual bad paint application and there was adhesive stains on her arm and other parts of her body. There were slight scratches on the plastic sword which is supposed to be of resin material. Her helmet/cap had cheap silver paint instead of the sleek metallic paint seen in the prototype picture. The base was the best piece of the group. Green paint leaked over to the feet imprints. In the lower side of the base, there is a slight imperfection seen in the picture. Well, that imperfection is really grease stain. Yeah, I really can’t believe they were eating Orange Chicken or something whilst handling the figure with their dirty, greasy hands. Can you be even more obvious?

This is the box used for the Volks A-Brand resin statues. It’s very convincing, isn’t it? Yes, that is the actual retail price for a Volks product especially if it’s from a very popular series.

I messsaged the seller, doufaceb, to which I got no reply back. I filed a Paypal dispute on Sept. 25 for “Item Not as Described” and he messaged me immediately right after claiming that those are straight from the factory and he doesn’t know what else to expect. Whatever. Yeah, I’m sure that’s exactly how they look over at the bootleg factory. I qualified for a refund as long as I sent the product back and provided proof of delivery. Well, this guy not only lied about his listing and failed at communicating, so I couldn’t take my chances with shady sellers. I opted for EMS and paid $52.85 to make sure that it was delivered properly on Oct. 2. I already anticipated that this seller would claim that he never got the item. It was received on Oct. 10, so I was eagerly waiting for the next announcement. I sent the damn thing back to him out of my own pocket, so I really don’t understand why there was a need for investigation if I had already met the requirement for a refund. After hearing the refund imbursement on Oct. 18, I was overwhelmed with joy. Immediately left a negative feedback to warn potential clients about this guy. I refrained from the name calling and such.

Item was broken w/ marks; advertised as Volks but isnt; NO COMMUNICATION; bad
  • Reply by doufaceb (Oct-18-08 11:12)Item was perfect. Buy SWITCH the item and use paypal get money back. JERK!!

I take libelous statements quite serious. I don’t appreciate attacks on my character as I think very low of people who actually resort to those types of things. I don’t know if this moron’s intention was to ward off other sellers from potentially selling items to me by trying to make me seem shady.

Then, he gives me an Unpaid Item Strike. Apparently, on eBay, sellers can get Final Value Credits by doing an Unpaid Item Strike. First and foremost, I think he didn’t deserve the Final Value Credits despite the transaction not being finalized due to a reimbursement. I paid a lot of money to get it shipped back to him because he is a shady and low individual, so he doesn’t deserve anything. You have to communicate on this Unpaid Item Strike page which was totally useless and redundant. In the end, he closes the page claiming that we couldn’t reach an agreement – despite him not saying anything at all – and the strike against me was issued. Bollocks!

So, I talked to Nita on the customer AIM help and she recognized I was being harassed. I filed the proper form. Received an email acknowledging the harassment and that it would be handled with the utmost importance. BS. Now, I had to appeal my Unpaid Item Strike and provided proof. I got a rather pissy reply back from eBay’s fine customer service stating they would remove the strike since it was my first one despite needing proof or documentation of payment. Apparently, she couldn’t see the blatant proof of payment that I included along with the other information glaring her in the face. The rest of mail mentioned communication with links of how to communicate with the seller to resolve problems and blah blah blah. Basically, we don’t really like helping customers and love to make money which is why these sellers can be assholes and treat the buyers like dirt as long as they continue to generate money.

Okay, if you file a complaint against someone, don’t you think it would be a no-no to give out their information to you. eBay certainly doesn’t think so. Once you’ve been in a transaction with someone, either party can request Contact Information under the guise of wanting to communicate or resolve problems. eBay even states that this shouldn’t be abused in any way and that they’ll slap your wrist as punishment.

The punishment for most of the things are listed as follows:

  • Listing cancellation

  • Limits on account privileges

  • Account suspension

  • Forfeit of eBay fees on cancelled listings

  • Loss of PowerSeller status

Everything with the exception of account suspension is a slap on the wrist if the seller is resorting to forms of harassment. Even with account suspension, it’s so easy to go back on eBay and make another account (see known bootlegged accounts).

So, I shockingly received an email that he requested my contact info. WHY?!?!?!? This is over and done with. I wish you and your bootlegs never existed in the first place. There is only one reason as to why he has done this – why further harassment, of course. So, I messaged him on eBay telling him that he’s childish and this transaction is over and done with. There is no need to carry on with these unnecessary things. He responds back using his personalized email address, thinking he’s so clever to avoid eBay:

What you did is not nice.
Since you get your money back, you shouldn't leave negative.
Think about it.
And this is not end !!!"

Think about it douchefacebag. Who in their right mind using only 1% of their brain after having paid a lot and dealing with the irritation and hassle wouldn’t leave a negative feedback to an insincere individual of questionable practices, unwilling to try to resolve their mistake. So, I continued to keep reporting this guy. I haven’t had any spam unintelligent mail delivered, so I am hoping that eBay finally got slapped with reality and threatened him or something.

This is what I think – Douchefacebag switched the original Volks product with his Chinese bootleg counterpart hence the yellow and double tape along with the grease marks and other noticeable signs.

Moral of the story, folks – Douchefacebag is a childish seller who will harass you for his own mistakes and eBay’s customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

So kiddies, AVOID THIS STORE LIKE IT’S THE BUBONIC PLAGUE Douchefacebag Store and avoid this seller. Trust me. You’re much better off without him.




Actions

Information

2 responses

16 11 2008
Dan Waldron

You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, I’ve spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

26 11 2008
Blowfish

Ouch that sucks…I dont buy at Ebay at all because im too paranoid.
You still can get ripped of in other ways tough…Thanks for spreading the word

Leave a Reply

